Who am I? (poem)

Who am I?
Never mind!
That is not important,
The music, listen to the music!

Can you clap along, he said.
A rocking White Stripes song.
I want you to notice when I’m not around,
Well put, Radiohead.

Who are you?
A girl I saw this morning,
Single and looking to mingle,
Out there in Instagram land.

Who am I?
Some guy alone like you.
We may live far away
But we are in the same cyberspace.

I don’t know who you are,
I don’t know who I am,
I am alone,                              I have no self awareness.

I have no attention,
Made worse by social media.
You have no attention,
Made worse by social media.

Can you tell me who I am?
Tell me everything you see!
Tell me everything about me,
So I can know who I am.

Don’t speak!
Your eyes, your beautiful eyes,
They tell me everything I need to know,
I can see myself in them like in a mirror.

Don’t speak!
In the best conversations, I’ve said not a word.
I’ve merely observed strangers.
I don’t like to talk, I like to observe faces.

I like to observe the faces of beautiful women,
I’d love to observe your face,
In my eyes you can see yourself,                    Like in a magic mirror.

On a night like tonight
I eat my dinner alone, all alone
Thinking of you, imagining we too
Listening to the music, the pop music!

We could, we could belong together,                   Sings Lady Gaga                          God damn, you’ve got me in love again,                 Sings Dua Lipa

We are far away,
But we are in the same place,
Both single and looking to mingle,
Out there in the brave new world.

Published by

George Shetuni

I am an author of fiction, essays, and poetry. I also enjoy blogging. In my blog, I write about self help, motivation, and literature.

Leave a comment